Looking for simplicity…

Cercando la semplicità …                           For english text please scroll down

Ci sono momenti in cui  sento l’esigenza di fare foto semplici. Senza particolari significati. Ma non banali. E allora inizia la ricerca. Una volta ho visitato una mostra nella mia città. I pezzi esposti erano interessanti. Ed io ho fatto questa foto, titolo: rosso (lo so, forse un po’ più di fantasia ed un titolo più accattivante…).

There are moments when I feel the need to make simple photographs. Without special meaning. But not banal. Then the research starts. Once I visited an exhibition in my town. There were interesting pieces of art. And I made, took this photo, title: red (I know, a little more effort and a more winning title…).

red, 2011

Per la cronaca non è una delle opere esposte: è un pezzo di ringhiera sulla scala d’ingresso. Forse ho un po’ esagerato come semplicità. Oserei dire essenzialità.

For your information this is not one of the art pieces: it is just a piece of the banisters on the entrance stair. Maybe I tried too hard. I would dare to call this: essentiality.

In un altro luogo ero attirato da questa forma geometrica e dalla combinazione di colori rosa e grigio.

In a different location I found this geometric shape interesting. The combination of pink and grey was interesting.

pink triangle. 2011

Questa seconda immagine secondo me è “sbilanciata”:  i colori sono riposanti, ma la forma triangolare io la trovo aggressiva.This second photo is, in my opinion, unbalanced: colors are quiet, but I find the triangular shape aggressive.

Una foto semplice necessità però di un centro d’interesse per non essere una foto noiosa. Ho risolto il problema  con questa immagine. Qui abbiamo colori pastello, un po’ di geometria non aggressiva e dei semplici fiori.

A simple picture needs a center of interest in order not to be a boring picture. I solved the problem with this photo. Here we have soft pastel colors, a little bit of geometry and a few simple flowers.

5 flowers, 2011

Un amico mi diceva che per sapere se una foto è riuscita  dobbiamo chiederci se l’appenderemmo in casa. E allora io vi chiedo: immaginate di stampare queste foto in grande formato su una carta preziosa, tipo acquarello. Quale appendereste in casa ? Io ho deciso quale appenderò!

A friend once told mw that in order to know if a photo works or not I should ask myself if I would like to hang it in my house. Now I ask you: imagine to print in large size these photos on a precious paper, aquarell type. Which one would you like to hang in your house ? I already decided which one I’ll hang !

6 thoughts on “Looking for simplicity…

  1. Thanks to all of you for taking time to comment my photos. Personally I’m with Adarsha and hang in my studio the the black one with the red pole, in my studio the main color is white. But I think my wife would like me to hang the flowers…
    robert

Lascia un commento

