Wet World Wide Pinhole Day

Piovoso World Wide Pinhole Day          for  english text scroll down please

Anche oggi pioggia, come l’anno scorso in occasione della Giornata Mondiale della Fotografia Stenopeica. Aggiungiamo un poco di pigrizia. E allora? Non potevo non fare nulla. Ho preso dall’armadio un vecchio telo nero, quello che mio papà adoperava quando (io ero bambino allora) allestiva la camera oscura nel bagno di casa e con le calamitine  lo ho appeso alla libreria. Dopo ho ho spostato due poltroncine, preso una sedia dalla cucina  e l’ho messa davanti al telo. Annie Leibovitz nel suo libro “At Work” racconta che Arnold Newman sosteneva la fotografia fosse 1% talento e 99% spostare mobili ed io metto in pratica! Lo stage era pronto. A questo punto ho messo sulla sedia un gallo (finto) che fa parte delle decorazioni pasquali.  Piazzata la macchina ho scattato (si può dire scattare quando l’otturatore è un pezzo di nastro adesivo nero e la posa è di circa trenta secondi?).  Tre foto in tutto (le pellicole istantanee che adopero costicchiano).

Again, rainy day. As last year for the World Wide Pinhole Day . I should add a little bit of laziness. So, what? I could not rest without doing anything. I took from the armoir a black cloth, the one my father used to prepare his darkroom in our bathroom (I really was a child in that time) and I hung it to the bookshelf. Than I moved a couple of armchairs, I took a simple kitchen chair a placed it in front of the black cloth. Annie Leibowitz in her book “At Work” tells that Arnold Newman was used to say photography to be 1% talent and 99% moving furniture and I practice it! Now the stage was ready. I simply put on the chair a rooster (fake) which was around because of Easter decorations. Placed my camera near it I shot (Is it possible to say shoot when the shutter is a piece of black tape and the pose is about 30 seconds?). I made three photos (the instant films I use are quite expensive).

pinholeday (1 di 1)

Volete vedere il risultato?  Non ho ancora scansionato le tre foto, se siete curiosi potete vedere cosa ho fatto lo scorso anno! Qui!

You like to see the result? Too early, I haven’t yet scanned the photos. But if you are curious you can see what I did last year! Here!

6 thoughts on “Wet World Wide Pinhole Day

  1. It’s really fun to see you set-up for the pinhole photo you show in your next post, Robert. What is your pinhole camera made of – cardboard? I love the quote by Arnold Newman, by the way.

    • yes, I have a rare (I believe) Polaroid Cardboard camera with a back for instant film (3 1/4 x 4 1/4 in). I slightly modified it adding a thin aluminum plate under the bottom where the tripod connection is in order to make it more stable during the long time exposures. It works great!
      robert
      PS: sometimes the set-up activity is the most interesting in the process🙂

Lascia un commento

