Experimenting a different style

Sperimentando uno stile diverso          As usual scroll down for english text, thanks.

Nel mio rapporto con la fotografia la ricerca di nuovi modi d’espressione occupa uno spazio importante. Per esempio con la fotografia low-fi , Holga e Polaroid. Ma amo anche il B&N, cui spesso dedico una certa cura per avere i toni che desidero, come in questo lavoro sulla musica. Ma spesso vedo un uso diverso del Bianco e Nero, con immagini sgranate, forti contrasti, foto non rifinite, un poco o molto grezze. Mi vengono in mente per esempio alcune foto di Daido Moriyama (per esempio nella sua gallery  il lavoro northern3). Ho voluto fare un piccolo esercizio in  questo stile, che anche se ora è lontano dal mio modo di fotografare un giorno potrebbe servirmi per esprimere idee o sensazioni più forti.

In my relationship with photography there is a large space for the research of new ways to express myself. As I try with the low-fi photography, Holga and Polaroid. I have to say that I love  Black and White as well, where I like smooth, as in this simple work about music. But very oft I see a different use of the black and white photography, with images with a strong grain, a very high contrast, pictures not clean but a little or very  rough. One examples are some pictures of Daido Moriyama (as in his gallery the work northern3). Even if this style is far away from my usual way to see I wanted to make a small exercise in order to practice it, maybe one day I’ll use it for some stronger photos.

5 pensieri su “Experimenting a different style

  1. La fotografia ci impone di adottare un determinato punto di vista, una determinata prospettiva e di adattarla al resto del mondo, alla realtà che ci circonda.
    Sperimentare con tecniche e strumenti lontani dal nostro stile preferito o abituale, secondo me ci aiuta a capire cosa vogliamo esprimere, e cosa invece no. E se stiamo, o meno, seguendo la strada che è giusta per noi, per quello che vogliamo esprimere e comunicare.
    Solo quando non abbiamo più stimoli ci dobbiamo chiedere cosa sta succedendo, che cosa è cambiato.

  2. I think it’s a great idea to take up ideas from other photographers, not to copy, but to incorporate in your own work. The traditional grainy and coarse look of for instance Tri-X film developed in Afga Rodinal creates “ugly” pictures. But if you used that to your advantage you could really create some strong and emotionally loaded images. Keep up with the good work, my friend.

    • Grazie Otto, yes sometimes there are way to make photo which are very different than my usual way but have a certain strength. I like to experiment, or to play with these in order to be able to use them when they could be useful. This “ugly” look could be a way to show the “crazy” side of our way of living, probably.
      robert

Lascia un commento

Questo sito utilizza Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come vengono elaborati i dati derivati dai commenti.