A magical box…

Una  scatola magica…                 please scroll down for english text, thanks

C’è una scatola di legno sul mio tavolo ma  non è una semplice scatola: è una scatola magica.

There is a wooden box on my desk but it is not a normal box: it is a magical box.

 E’ fatta di legno e una volta conteneva i biscotti tipici che vengono fatti in Germania per Natale chiamati Lebkuchen. Forse è per questo che io la ricordo da quando ero bambino! Se la apro ne esce la storia della mia famiglia. Fotografie vecchie, molto vecchie,  lettere scritte da mio papà quando era lontano, tanti ricordi.

It is a wooden box which many years ago contained the typical german Chirstmas biscuits, probably because of this I remember this box since I was a child! If I open it  the story of my family comes out. Old photographs, very old photographs, letters written by my father when he was far away, memories.

opening the magical box...

Il mio progetto fotografico ispirato alla storia di un migrante, di cui ho già parlato qui, prosegue. Alcune foto le  avete già viste nei post precedenti, questo oppure questo e quest’altro. Ora ho pensato che i ricordi fanno parte della vita delle persone. Ed anche i migranti ed i loro cari hanno dei ricordi. Pertanto insieme a mia moglie abbiamo voluto lavorare su questo tema.

My photo project inspired by a migrant story proceeds. I already described it here. You have already seen some of the pictures in this post, and here or here. Migrants have memories and their beloved have memories as well. Therefore my wife and me decided to work on this theme.

Abbiamo scelto alcune foto ed assemblato un piccolo set in soggiorno e poi nel mio studio.  La finestra con tenda bianca ha fornito la luce desiderata (tutte le case dei fotografi dovrebbero avere ampie finestre con tende bianche!) solo leggermente schiarita da una lampada alogena. Mia moglie ha indossato un vecchio vestito prestato da un’amica ed io ho iniziato a fotografare.

We selected a few photographs ed prepared a small set in our living room and later in my studio. The large window with a white curtain gave a nice light (all the houses of photographers should have large windows with white curtains!) only a little bit  brightened by a lamp. My wife put on some old clothes borrowed by a friend and I started to shoot.

La pellicola è stata sviluppata (secondo me un  progetto che ha a che fare con il tempo e con il passato debba essere fatto con la cara vecchia pellicola) ed ora sono in fase di editing. Per ora propongo qualcosa dalle immagini di prova e backstage, scattate in digitale. Come sempre commenti, critiche e suggerimenti sono benvenuti, grazie.

memories or dream ? ________________________________rkr©2012

I have already developed the film ( I believe that a project which has to do with the time and the past has to be made on film) and now I’m editing it. By now I just share with you a couple images, test and backstage shot on digital. As always comments, critics or suggestions are welcome, thanks in advance.

backstage

18 pensieri su “A magical box…

  1. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of what’s lies within your magic box, Robert… precious memories that once were your father’s alone and now, also yours and your wife’s.

  2. Pingback: Printing, editing, sequencing: one more time. | the quiet photographer

  3. Pingback: December 10th, one more ! | the quiet photographer

  4. Il progetto di per sé è molto interessante, seguirne l’evolversi strada facendo è davvero emozionante! Non posso che ringraziarti per questa condivisione a tappe, è un piacere seguirti! Ciao

  5. Thank you Otto for your much appreciated comment. Biscuit boxes are very good to contain memories after you have eaten the original content! Thanks for the suggestion to darken the right part of the photo. I’ll do it, but this is not one of the final pictures which I’m editing and preparing for print now. This is a digital snap I did to have a preliminary idea how my wife could seem acting as grandmother ! I take opportunity to let you know that in the image of photographs on the chair you see a photo with three boys and a little girl: they were my father with his two brothers and the little sister: it s a photo more or less 80 years old! ciao
    robert

  6. Your memory box has inspired me to want to do something similar myself. I just need to find a very special box for the very special items it eventually will contain. Thanks for the great idea. The photo of grandmother and grandchild (I presume?) is very touching. I love it, and the duo-tone like graphic quality is great. If I may come with a suggestion? I may considering making the right side of the photograph a little darker, it will contain the eye to the lovely people in the photograph – and their relationship. Fun to see your set-up too, and of course you are right; every photographer ought to have large windows with white curtains.

  7. Un progetto che ti appassiona e che fa appassionare i tuoi lettori..Un progetto che ha il sapore dei tempi passati, della tua storia e di quella della tua famiglia, che evolve con la giusta ed appropriata lentezza. Impegnativo. Curioso di vederlo finito.

  8. So beautiful… I am impressed so much dear Robert, how precious these boxes… I loved all these photographs dear Robert, Thank you, with my love, nia

  9. Davvero molto interessante, un progetto che non vedo l’ora di ammirare…
    Le premesse della descrizione, il punto di inizio del progetto e gli scatti di prova fanno intuire grandi cose, complimenti !

    Claudio

    • Grazie Claudio, devo ancora scattare foto su un paio di temi. Intanto sto facendo la selezione degli scatti fatti. Vorrei terminare la fase scatti entro l’estate per poi dedicarmi a tutto il resto, editing, stampa, layout esposizione, forse testi, hmm tanto da fare ancora…
      robert

Lascia un commento

Questo sito utilizza Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come vengono elaborati i dati derivati dai commenti.